3 new publications & a forthcoming chapbook!

Good news comes in threes! It’s been a while since I updated this blog, but I’ve resolved to make more time and space for writing in 2016. I’ve got my fingers and toes in some new projects, and I’m excited to say you’ll be hearing a lot more from me. But first, I want to round off with a queue of publication of announcements I’ve neglected to post.

 

In November, my poem, “Slammer,” was published in The Fem. This poem (which was inspired in part by Jan Beatty’s “Shooter”) was originally written as a performance piece, but I’m excited to see in print. In it, I name a number of gender-fueled frustrations with the slam poetry community. It feels good and important to purge these moments, and I’m stoked about the work The Fem is doing for marginalized woman & non-binary poets.

 

This month, I have two poems in FreezeRay Poetry, which is the only poetry journal specific to pop culture in existence. The poems were inspired by two singer/songwriters who write beautiful songs but are complicated (and often problematic) as individuals: Lou Reed and Kathleen Hanna. I’m pleased to be a part of this issue!

 

Finally, and most significantly, my chapbook, Revocation, was selected as the winner of the Wicked Banshee Chapbook Prize. I got quiet in 2015 in large part because I was working on this manuscript. I’m so excited it has found a home with this new press for woman & non-binary poets; their mission resonates deeply with me, and I’m honored to be one of the first books to be published. Revocation is still forthcoming, so I’m stepping my game up with the intention of getting a lot more poems published and showing my face at a lot more literary events in anticipation of its release.

 

Happy 2016!

Leave a Reply

